Call Us Now

08444 999 222

Safety and security

Keeping valuables safe and secure in your office means investing in the right safe.

When it comes to safety and security in your business, there’s no sense in cutting corners. Businesses which handle cash, hold sensitive data or controlled items such as drugs or guns, should have a suitable safe on the premises to keep these items in. Other businesses may be required to have a safe by their insurance company.

There is a wide range of safe designs available to choose from, and the right safe for your business will depend on what you need to store inside. Safes can be free standing, located in cupboards, mounted in the wall or kept in a hole in the ground, and can be fireproof, waterproof and rated to different values of contents for your insurance purposes. Here’s what you need to know about the official safe rating, to help you choose the right model.

How are safe ratings determined?

All safes are awarded a rating based on how secure it is going to make the stored contents. The rating of your potential safe is dependent on a number of factors, including:

  • Movement: How resistant is the safe to being moved, or taken away?
  • Strength: How thick are the walls, door and mounting, and how strong are they?
  • Quality: How well made is the safe; what is its overall build quality?
  • Security: How well made is the lock, and what is the complexity of the locking mechanism?

To receive official certification, safes are tested independently and awarded a rating based on its performance. For very low security safes, the manufacturer themselves can generate a rating, but in most cases, an official, independent rating is given. This describes not only the quality of the safe, but also the value of items you can store within, and which your insurance should protect you for.

Safety and security ratings explained

There are two main ratings to be aware of; these are EN14450 and EN1143-1. Alongside these will be a ‘cash rating’ value. This is how they work:

  • EN14450: This is a European rating system which generally covers lower security safes and cashboxes. Safes meeting the requirements of this standard are further classified into either S1 or S2, indicating a cash rating of £2,000 and £4,000 respectively.
  • EN1143-1: This is also a European rating system, which tests safes of a higher security standard. It is also known as the ‘Eurograde’ system, and in addition to the EN1143-1 award, products will be given a Eurograde rating of between 0 and 7. These numbers relate to the cash value, which are as follows:
    • Eurograde 0 –£6,000
    • Eurograde 1 – £10,000
    • Eurograde 2 – £17,500
    • Eurograde 3 – £35,000
    • Eurograde 4 – £60,000
    • Eurograde 5 – £100,000
    • Eurograde 6 – £150,000

The cash rating, both awarded under the Eurograde system and the EN14450 rating, relates to the storage of cash only. If you are also storing valuables in the safe, then you can store up to ten times the cash rating in value. If you are storing a combination of cash and valuables, you should only store up to ten times the remaining cash value after you’ve taken away the actual value of cash you are storing.

For example, if you purchase a Eurograde 1 safe and wish to store £6,000 of cash in it, you can also store (10,000 – 6,000) x 10 of valuables, which is £40,000 worth. These ratings are an absolute maximum, so don’t feel you have to go right up to the limit to make the most of your purchase.

These ratings are guidelines for you and for your insurance company, but don’t always guarantee you’ll be covered for the rated value. Before purchasing any safe, talk to your insurance company to find out what level of cover you can expect so you don’t end up disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Last Modified / Updated on: May 31, 2018 at 11:04 am